Local Trips and Classes

[b]Central Park Birding[/b]Central Park Birding

Come out and see what New York City has to offer!

NYC Audubon offers a great variety of trips and classes right here close to home, in all five boroughs and beyond. Please browse our selections of local trips and classes below.

 
To read about ongoing weekly walks with Bryant Park, Central Park, and Van Cortlandt Park,
please click here.
 


Upcoming Local Trips & Classes - Click on each event title to learn more

Sunday, May 29: Birding Gems of Staten Island: Clove Lakes Park, with Gabriel Willow

Thursday, June 2: The Breeding Birds of Doodletown Road, Rockland County, with Joe Giunta

Saturday, June 4: The Breeding Birds of Jamaica Bay, with Tod Winston

Saturday, June 4: Spring Migration on Randall's Island, with Gabriel Willow

Sunday, June 5: The Parakeets of Green-Wood Cemetery, Brooklyn, with Gabriel Willow

Wednesday, June 8: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, June 11: Explore the Meadowlands by Pontoon Boat, Secaucus, NJ, with Tod Winston

Saturday, June 11: Prospect Park Bird Walk, with Gabriel Willow

Wednesday, June 15: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, June 18: The Summering Birds of Inwood Hill Park, with Annie Barry

Sunday, June 19: The Breeding Birds of the Hudson Highlands, NY, with Gabriel Willow - Father's Day Edition!

Wednesday, June 22: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, June 25: The Breeding Birds of the Hudson Highlands, NY, with Gabriel Willow

Saturday, June 25: Birds, Butterflies, and Terrapins, with Don Riepe

Wednesday, June 29: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Wednesday, July 6: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, July 9: Prospect Park Bird Walk, with Gabriel Willow

Saturday, July 9: Early Fall Shorebird Migration

Wednesday, July 13: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Friday, July 15: Breeding Birds of Nickerson Beach and Marine Nature Study Area, with Tod Winston

Tuesday, July 19: Twilight Bat and Insect Walk in Central Park, with Paul Keim

Wednesday, July 20: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Sunday, July 24: Birding Gems of Staten Island - Freshkills Park, with Cliff Hagen and Tod Winston

Tuesday, July 26: Twilight Bat and Insect Walk in Central Park, with Paul Keim

Wednesday, July 27: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, July 30: Croton Point Park, with Gabriel Willow

Tuesday, August 2: Twilight Bat and Insect Walk in Central Park, with Paul Keim

Wednesday, August 3: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Thursday, August 4: Shorebird ID Workshop, with Joe Giunta

Tuesday, August 9: Twilight Bat and Insect Walk in Central Park, with Paul Keim

Wednesday, August 10: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, August 13: Shorebird Walk in Jamaica Bay, Queens, with Gabriel Willow

Tuesday, August 16: Twilight Bat and Insect Walk in Central Park, with Paul Keim

Wednesday, August 17: Sunset EcoCruise to the Harbor Heron Islands

Saturday, August 27: Prospect Park Bird Walk, with Gabriel Willow

Sunday, August 28: Fall Migration Bird Walk at Jamaica Bay, with Don Riepe

Wednesday, September 7: Morning Fall Migration Walks in Central Park, with Joe Giunta

Thursday, September 8: Morning Fall Migration Walks in Central Park, with Joe Giunta

Friday, September 9: Fall Warblers, with Joe Giunta

Saturday, September 10: Intro to Birding: Bird Walk in Central Park, with Tod Winston

Monday, September 12: Evening Fall Migration Walks in Central Park, with Gabriel Willow

Tuesday, September 13: Evening Fall Migration Walks in Central Park, with Gabriel Willow

Wednesday, September 14: Evening Fall Migration Walks in Central Park, with Gabriel Willow

Saturday, September 17: Jamaica Bay Sunset Ecology Cruise

Sunday, September 18: Hook Mountain Hawk Watch, with Joe Giunta

Friday, September 23: Bird Walk in the North Woods, with Tod Winston

Ongoing Events 

 

BIRDING AT WAVE HILL, THE BRONX
Sundays, May 8, June 12, July 10, August 14, September 11, 9:30-11:30am
Guide: Gabriel Willow
With Wave Hill
Meet at the Perkins Visitor Center. Naturalist Gabriel Willow contributes his extensive knowledge of bird species and their behaviors on these captivating walks. Wave Hill’s garden setting overlooking the Hudson River flyway provides the perfect habitat for resident and migrating birds. Walks run rain or shine. Ages 10 and up welcome with an adult. NYC Audubon members enjoy two-for-one admission. For more information, visit https://www.wavehill.org/events/spring-birding-10/

 

QUEENS BOTANICAL GARDEN BIRD WALKS
Saturdays April 9, May 7, June 4, and Sundays April 24 and May 22; 9-10am
Guide: Tiffany Adams
With Queens Botanical Garden
We are happy to announce a new series of spring migration bird walks in partnership with Queens Botanical Garden. Register for one date or the whole series of five free walks. Explore the Garden in search of migrant songbirds and learn about the valuable resources that the Garden offers birds and other wildlife. Binoculars available. Limited to 25. Appropriate for all ages. To register, email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or visit www.queensbotanical.org/calendar. Free with Garden admission

 

BIRDING TOURS OF BRYANT PARK
Mondays, April 11 – May 16, 8-9am
Thursdays, April 14 – May 19, 5-6pm
Guide: Gabriel Willow
With Bryant Park Corporation
Meet at the Birding Tour sign at the 42nd Street and 6th Avenue entrance to the park. Discover the surprising variety of birds that stop in Bryant Park during migration. No registration necessary. No limit. Free

 

BIRDING BASICS FOR FAMILIES: THE RAMBLE, CENTRAL PARK
Saturdays, April 30–May 28, 10-11am
Guides: NYC Audubon, Conservancy Discovery Guides
Offered by the Central Park Conservancy
Meet at the Belvedere Castle (inside the Park, mid-Park just north of the 79th Street transverse). Experience Central Park’s precious bird habitat and migration hot spot with Conservancy Discovery Guides and NYC Audubon. Witness firsthand how the Conservancy’s work has made the Park a sanctuary for birds. Binoculars available. Free: pre-registration is recommended as space is limited. Ages 5+. Families only: maximum of three children per parent or guardian; no groups For weather cancellation updates and pre-registration information, call 212-772-0288.

 

BIRDING BASICS FOR FAMILIES: NORTH WOODS, CENTRAL PARK
Sundays, May 1–May 29, 10-11am
Guides: NYC Audubon, Conservancy Discovery Guides
Offered by the Central Park Conservancy
Meet at the Dana Discovery Center (inside the Park at 110th Street between Fifth and Lenox Avenues). Experience Central Park’s precious bird habitat and migration hot spot with Conservancy Discovery Guides and NYC Audubon. Witness firsthand how the Conservancy’s work has made the Park a sanctuary for birds. Binoculars available. Limited to 20. Age 5 and up. Free: pre-registration is recommended as space is limited. Ages 5+. Families only: maximum of three children per parent or guardian; no groups. For weather cancellation updates and pre-registration information, call 212-860-1370

 

VAN CORTLANDT BIRD WALKS, THE BRONX
Saturdays, May 7-July 30, 8-9:30am
Guides: NYC Audubon, Van Cortlandt Park Conservancy
With the Van Cortlandt Park Conservancy
Meet at Van Cortlandt Nature Center. The history of birding and Van Cortlandt Park are inseparable. Influential birders such as Roger Tory Peterson and Allan D. Cruickshank got their starts on Van Cortlandt’s ecologically diverse grounds. These walks celebrate the tradition set forth by these great ornithologists. Participants will look for various species of residents and migrants and discuss a wide range of avian topics. For more information, please call 212-691-7483. No registration necessary. No limit. Free

 

DMC Firewall is a Joomla Security extension!