NYC Audubon's board of directors and advisory council are made up of diverse and dynamic individuals who volunteer their time, offering guidance and expertise in a wide range of issues that steer the organization's work and amplify our mission.

Board Officers and Directors

NYC Audubon welcomes suggestions for new members of its board of directors, who are elected by the organization's membership in June for three-year terms. To make our board more representative of the City’s diverse population, we are especially interested in candidates who represent new perspectives, backgrounds, and communities including residents of Staten Island, Queens, and the Bronx; as well as candidates with financial, marketing, and legal expertise. Submit suggestions to Jeffrey Kimball, chair of the nominating committee, at nominations@nycaudubon.org.

Board Committees

Executive - Karen Benfield, chair
Advocacy - Marsilia A. Boyle, chair
Audit - Sharon Weidberg, chair
Education and Public Programs - Georgia Silvera Seamans, PhD, chair
Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility - Angie Co, chair
Finance - Drianne Benner and Andre Meade, co-chairs
Fundraising - Michael Tannen, chair
Marketing and Communications - Kyu Lee, chair
Nominating - Jeffrey Kimball*, chair
Personnel - Karen Benfield and Mike Yuan, co-chairs
Publications - Lauren Klingsberg, chair
Science - Richard Veit, PhD, chair
Special Events/Fall Roost - Karen Benfield, chair

Many of our committees include non-board members. If you are interested in sharing your expertise and joining a committee, contact board president Karen Benfield at karen@nycaudubon.org

Advisory Council

NYC Audubon's advisory council provides valuable insight, expertise, and counsel to the work of the organization. Advisory council members includes past directors, adjunct committee members, and experts working in the fields of science, conservation, communications, education, real estate, law, advocacy, and more.

If you are interested in sharing your expertise and joining our advisory council, please contact Karen Benfield, president of the board, at karen@nycaudubon.org.    

Advisory Council Members

Richard T. Andrias
Sarah Grimké Aucoin
Seth Ausubel
Claude Bloch, MD
Ronald Bourque*
Cliff Case
Rebekah Creshkoff
Andrew Darrell
Joseph H. Ellis
Andrew Farnsworth, PhD
Mike Feller
Marcia T. Fowle*
Ellen Hartig
Catherine Schragis Heller
Lynne Hertzog
Sarah Jeffords
Mary Jane Kaplan
Robert J. Kimtis
Lauren Klingsberg
Janice Laneve
Mary Leou
Lawrence Levine
Pamela Manice
Jennifer Maritz
Peter Rhoades Mott*
Dorothy M. Peteet, PhD
Don Riepe
Lewis Rosenberg**
John Shemilt
David Speiser
Alan Steel 
Tom Stephenson
Shino Tanikawa
* Past President
** Founding Board Member