Our Leadership

Our board of directors and advisory council are made up of diverse and dynamic individuals who volunteer their time, offering guidance and expertise in a wide range of issues that steer the organization's work.

NYC Audubon seeks new members of its board of directors for three-year terms beginning in June. To make our board more representative of the City’s diverse population, we are especially interested in candidates who represent new perspectives, backgrounds, and communities; residents of Staten Island, Queens, and the Bronx; and/or candidates with financial, marketing, fundraising, or policy/advocacy expertise. Submit suggestions to Jeffrey Kimball, chair of the nominating committee, at nominations@nycaudubon.org.

Below the board listing, you'll also find a listing of NYC Audubon's board committees, which oversee the organization's conservation, advocacy, and engagement work and welcome the participation of our members.

Board Officers and Directors

Board Committee Chairs

Executive - Karen Benfield
Audit - Mike Yuan
Conservation - Marsilia A. Boyle and Patrick Markee
Education and Public Programs - Shawn Cargil and Richard Veit, PhD
Engagement - Kyu Lee
Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Accessibility - Angie Co and Elizabeth Norman
Finance - Drianne Benner
Fundraising - Tatiana Kaletsch
Nominating - Jeffrey Kimball*
Personnel - Alan Steel
Publications - Marcia T. Fowle* and Lauren Klingsberg

Many of our committees are made up of a mixture of non-board members and board members. We welcome the participation of NYC Audubon members! If you are interested in joining a committee, write Board President Karen Benfield at kbenfield@nycaudubon.org

Advisory Council

Co-Chair - Marcia T. Fowle*
Co-Chair - James R. Sheffield
Richard T. Andrias
Sarah Grimké Aucoin
Claude Bloch, MD
Albert K. Butzel
Cliff Case
Rebekah Creshkoff
Andrew Darrell
Joseph H. Ellis
Andrew Farnsworth, PhD
Catherine Schragis Heller
Lynne Hertzog
Sarah Jeffords
Mary Jane Kaplan
Robert J. Kimtis
Lauren Klingsberg
Kimberly Kriger
Janice Laneve
Lawrence Levine
Pamela Manice
Peter Rhoades Mott*
Dorothy M. Peteet, PhD
Don Riepe
Lewis Rosenberg
John Shemilt
David Speiser
Tom Stephenson
* Past President